Chocolates and Unicycles

I know I promised stories of summer vacation, and they’re coming! But let me tell you about something that happened this morning.

I visit 3 different schools – one middle school, one elementary school, and one combined middle/elementary school. The distances are 10 minutes walking, 6 minutes walking plus 10 minutes driving, and 6 minutes walking plus 30 minutes driving respectively. Today I’m at my furthest school.

Chocolates

This morning when I went into the office to get the key to the town car, my boss was already in. She usually doesn’t come in until a bit later. She gave me a box of chocolates to thank me for the things I’ve been doing outside of my job description lately. Although these things were done during work hours, or compensated by time off if they went past work hours, she still went above and beyond to thank me even further. I felt extremely appreciated, not that I don’t anyway with how much they express their gratitude toward me regularly, and happy that I was part of such an office. I know that many people have difficult times with their offices, and don’t always feel like they’re fully accepted by their coworkers, but I have had the most amazing experience up to this point.

chocolates

I plan on working in this town for 4 more years before finding another job in Japan. I hope that I can continue to build good relations, have rewarding experiences, and grow in this job in that time. I want to repay the kindness that has been shown to me, and I hope that I can express my gratitude for being part of such a wonderful office.

Unicycles

On another note, my kids are practicing riding their unicycles for the upcoming sports day. If you don’t know what sports day is, I’ve briefly talked about it in a previous post, and will also likely post about it again this year after it takes place!

So, the students at my schools learn to ride unicycles and perform different acts on unicycles at sports day! I asked some of the other teachers if they could also ride unicycles, and they said that their schools didn’t teach that when they were in school. The principal and one of the homeroom teachers both decided to give it a shot and…fell. I’m very impressed with my kids! They can ride forwards, backwards, and idle. It seems super difficult but I’d really like to give it a shot and learn if I could! Wish me luck if I ever get to it! I know I’ll need it since I’m quite clumsy…

 

Until next time!! xx

Leave a comment