Setsubun

Have you ever heard of setsubun? It’s a Japanese celebration on the day before the first day of spring in the old Japanese calendar. The word setsubun 節分 translates to seasonal division in English.

What do you do?

People cast out demons on setsubun. They throw beans and say “demons out, happiness (good fortune) in.” There are other things that people do, such as eating ehoumaki, but the casting out of demons is the most important bit.

Setsubun 節分: A Seasonal Tradition - It's Japan Time

Many people also consider which of their own inner demons they hope to cast out. For some people, it’s the demon of sleepiness, for others it may be the demon of overeating. For me, it’s the demon of procrastination. I tend to put off important things because they overwhelm me. My goal is to reassess my priorities and try not to procrastinate on the important things.

How about you? What are your demons that you hope to cast out?

Until next time!! xx

Leave a comment