My Newest Adventure

I had a lot of down time today at work…and I spent most of the time studying Japanese, brushing up on some Spanish, and writing a project proposal. However, as we entered the late afternoon, I began to feel restless. I wanted something exciting! So I started learning Korean.

So far I’ve learned the writing system (or at least mostly) and the basic sentence form of “subject + subject marker + object + be-verb.” This format is exactly the same as Japanese, and therefore was quite easy to pick up. I just had to learn the new words to fill in the spaces. And I’m sure all (or most) of Korean will be like that.

main-2.png

Currently the only subject I can say is “I” and the only verb I know is the basic format, “be-verb.” But it’s all up from here! If I stick to it, that is. Even if I don’t, it was a fun hour or 2 of studying!

자는제시카이다 (jeo neum Jessica i da)
私はジェシカです。 (watashi ha Jessica desu)
Me llamo Jessica.
Jaz sem Jessica.
My name is Jessica.

I can tell you my name in 5 different languages, now!

So far the hardest part of the language for me is the pronunciation. I’m used to English and Japanese, and even Spanish pronunciation, but Korean is a whole new ball game for me!

 

Until next time!! xx

Leave a comment